Grants for Schools & Universities
857 open opportunities. Open federal grants for colleges, universities, and other educational institutions, each with a plain-English eligibility summary, deadline, and award amount.
NIDCD Research Career Enhancement Award for Established Investigators (K18 Clinical Trial Required)
Due May 7, 2027National Institutes of Health · Amount varies
This NIH/NIDCD career enhancement award (K18) supports established investigators acquiring new research skills relevant to hearing, balance, smell, taste, voice, speech, and language sciences, and this version requires a clinical trial. It is intended for proven individual investigators applying through eligible institutions such as universities; foreign organizations cannot apply. No award amount is listed.
ResearchersSchools & universitiesNarrow eligibilityMidcareer Investigator Award in Patient-Oriented Research (Parent K24 Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
Due May 7, 2027National Institutes of Health · Amount varies
This NIH midcareer award (K24) provides protected time for mid-career clinician-scientists to conduct patient-oriented research and mentor junior clinical researchers; this version does not allow leading an independent clinical trial. It is intended for individual health-professional investigators applying through eligible institutions such as universities and academic medical centers. No award amount is listed.
ResearchersSchools & universitiesNarrow eligibilityNIDCD Mentored Career Development Award for Postdoctorate Au.D./Ph.D. Audiologists (K01 Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
Due May 7, 2027National Institutes of Health · Amount varies
This NIH/NIDCD mentored career development award (K01) supports postdoctoral Au.D./Ph.D. audiologists pursuing supervised research toward research independence; this version does not allow leading an independent clinical trial. It is intended for individual early-career investigators applying through eligible institutions such as universities; foreign organizations and foreign components are not allowed. No award amount is listed.
ResearchersSchools & universitiesNarrow eligibilityNew Approaches for Measuring Brain Changes Across Longer Timespans (R21 Clinical Trial Optional)
Due May 7, 2027National Institutes of Health · Amount varies
This NIH exploratory research grant (R21) funds high-risk, highly novel approaches to measuring brain changes across the lifespan, including studies that may lack preliminary data. It is aimed at multidisciplinary researchers at eligible institutions such as universities, nonprofits, tribal organizations, and government agencies. No award amount is listed.
ResearchersSchools & universitiesBroad eligibilityNIDCD Research Career Enhancement Award for Established Investigators (K18 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
Due May 7, 2027National Institutes of Health · Amount varies
This NIH/NIDCD career enhancement award (K18) supports established investigators who want to gain new research skills relevant to hearing, balance, smell, taste, voice, speech, and language sciences. It is intended for proven individual investigators applying through eligible institutions such as universities; this version does not allow clinical trials and foreign organizations cannot apply. No award amount is listed.
ResearchersSchools & universitiesNarrow eligibilityNew Approaches for Measuring Brain Changes Across Longer Timespans (R01 Clinical Trial Optional)
Due May 7, 2027National Institutes of Health · Amount varies
This NIH research grant supports new or novel methods to measure brain activity, connectivity, or genomics across the lifespan to study neurodevelopment and aging. It is intended for multidisciplinary researchers at eligible institutions such as universities, nonprofits, tribal organizations, and government agencies. No award amount is listed and the eligibility text does not specify a dollar cap.
ResearchersSchools & universitiesBroad eligibilityIndependent Scientist Award (Parent K02 - Independent Clinical Trial Required)
Due May 7, 2027National Institutes of Health · Amount varies
This NIH Independent Scientist Award (K02) provides salary support and protected time for newly independent investigators to intensify their research focus, and this version requires leading an independent clinical trial. It is intended for individual investigators applying through eligible institutions such as universities. No award amount is listed.
ResearchersSchools & universitiesNarrow eligibilityMentored Research Scientist Development Award (Parent K01 - Independent Clinical Trial Required)
Due May 7, 2027National Institutes of Health · Amount varies
This NIH mentored research scientist award (K01) provides three to five years of protected, supervised career development in biomedical, behavioral, or clinical research leading to independence, and this version requires an independent clinical trial. It is intended for individual investigators applying through eligible institutions such as universities. No award amount is listed.
ResearchersSchools & universitiesNarrow eligibilityMentored Patient-Oriented Research Career Development Award (Parent K23 Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
Due May 7, 2027National Institutes of Health · Amount varies
This NIH mentored career development award (K23) supports individuals with a clinical doctoral degree who are committed to patient-oriented research, providing protected research time under mentorship. This version does not allow leading an independent clinical trial. It is intended for individual clinician-investigators applying through eligible institutions such as universities and academic medical centers. No award amount is listed.
ResearchersSchools & universitiesNarrow eligibilityNIDCD Mentored Career Development Award for Postdoctorate Au.D./Ph.D. Audiologists (K01 Clinical Trial Required)
Due May 7, 2027National Institutes of Health · Amount varies
This NIH/NIDCD mentored career development award (K01) supports postdoctoral Au.D./Ph.D. audiologists pursuing supervised research toward becoming independent investigators, and this version requires a clinical trial. It is intended for individual early-career investigators applying through eligible institutions such as universities; foreign organizations and foreign components are not allowed. No award amount is listed.
ResearchersSchools & universitiesNarrow eligibilityMentored Quantitative Research Development Award (Parent K25 Independent Clinical Trial Required)
Due May 7, 2027National Institutes of Health · Amount varies
This NIH mentored career development award (K25) supports quantitative or engineering scientists redirecting their work toward health research, providing protected research time under a mentor; this version requires the applicant to lead an independent clinical trial. It is intended for individual investigators applying through eligible institutions such as universities. No award amount is listed.
ResearchersSchools & universitiesNarrow eligibilityMidcareer Investigator Award in Patient-Oriented Research (Parent K24 Independent Clinical Trial Required)
Due May 7, 2027National Institutes of Health · Amount varies
This NIH midcareer award (K24) provides protected time for mid-career clinician-scientists to conduct patient-oriented research and mentor junior clinical researchers, and this version requires an independent clinical trial. It is intended for individual health-professional investigators applying through eligible institutions such as universities and academic medical centers. No award amount is listed.
ResearchersSchools & universitiesNarrow eligibilityMentored Patient-Oriented Research Career Development Award (Parent K23 Independent Clinical Trial Required)
Due May 8, 2027National Institutes of Health · Amount varies
This NIH mentored career development award (K23) supports individuals with a clinical doctoral degree committed to patient-oriented research, providing protected research time under mentorship, and this version requires an independent clinical trial. It is intended for individual clinician-investigators applying through eligible institutions such as universities and academic medical centers. No award amount is listed.
ResearchersSchools & universitiesNarrow eligibilityMentored Clinical Scientist Research Career Development Award (Parent K08 Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
Due May 8, 2027National Institutes of Health · Amount varies
This NIH mentored career development award (K08) prepares individuals with a clinical doctoral degree for research careers through supervised biomedical, behavioral, or translational research; this version does not allow leading an independent clinical trial. It is intended for individual clinician-investigators applying through eligible institutions such as universities and academic medical centers. No award amount is listed.
ResearchersSchools & universitiesNarrow eligibilityMentored Clinical Scientist Research Career Development Award (Parent K08 Independent Clinical Trial Required)
Due May 8, 2027National Institutes of Health · Amount varies
This NIH mentored career development award (K08) prepares individuals with a clinical doctoral degree for research careers through supervised biomedical, behavioral, or translational research, and this version requires an independent clinical trial. It is intended for individual clinician-investigators applying through eligible institutions such as universities and academic medical centers. No award amount is listed.
ResearchersSchools & universitiesNarrow eligibilityNIA Expanding Research in AD/ADRD (ERA) Summer Research Education Program (R25 Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
Due May 26, 2027National Institutes of Health · Up to $200K
This NIH/NIA research education (R25) grant funds summer research education programs in Alzheimer's disease and related dementias for high school students, undergraduates, or science teachers. The listed eligible applicants are limited to a narrow set of organizations (faith- or community-based organizations, certain tribal governments, regional organizations, and U.S. territories), and foreign organizations and components are not allowed. The listed budget cap is about $200,000, and participants may not lead an independent clinical trial.
Schools & universitiesResearchersNarrow eligibilitySmall awardNIA Expanding Research in AD/ADRD (ERA) Postbaccalaureate Research Education Program (R25 Independent Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
Due May 26, 2027National Institutes of Health · Up to $400K
This NIH/NIA research education (R25) grant funds postbaccalaureate research education programs in Alzheimer's disease and related dementias to broaden the research workforce. The listed eligible applicants are limited to a narrow set of organizations (faith- or community-based organizations, certain tribal governments, regional organizations, and U.S. territories), and foreign organizations and components are not allowed. The listed budget cap is about $400,000.
Schools & universitiesResearchersNarrow eligibilityLimited Competition: NCATS Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA) Program Research Education Grants Programs (R25 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
Due May 28, 2027National Institutes of Health · Amount varies
This is a limited-competition NIH/NCATS research education (R25) grant supporting education programs within the Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA) program. Because it is a limited competition, eligibility is restricted to specific invited institutions rather than open to all applicants; foreign organizations are not eligible. No award amount is listed, and the eligibility text is narrow and does not fully specify which organizations may apply.
Schools & universitiesResearchersNarrow eligibilityAntarctic Research Requiring U.S. Antarctic Program (USAP) Support for Fieldwork
Due Jun 1, 2027U.S. National Science Foundation · Amount varies
This NSF solicitation funds Antarctic research that requires logistical fieldwork support from the U.S. Antarctic Program (USAP), spanning Earth systems, biological, geochemical, and physical sciences. Eligible applicants are limited to U.S.-based non-profit non-academic research organizations (such as museums, observatories, and research laboratories), accredited U.S. institutions of higher education, and federally recognized tribal nations; individuals and businesses are not among the listed eligible submitters. Available USAP logistical support is currently limited due to facility maintenance, so applicants should follow the solicitation's guidance. Award amounts are not specified.
ResearchersSchools & universitiesNonprofitsGovernment / tribal+1 moreHigh-End Instrumentation (HEI) Grant Program (S10 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
Due Jun 1, 2027National Institutes of Health · Amount varies
This NIH High-End Instrumentation (HEI) program funds groups of NIH-supported investigators to purchase or upgrade a single piece of high-end research instrumentation, with awards ranging from a minimum of $750,001 up to $2,000,000. Eligible applicants are U.S. research institutions, including minority-serving institutions and tribally controlled colleges; foreign organizations and their components are not eligible and foreign components are not allowed. Note a key restriction: applicants must have groups of existing NIH-supported investigators, so this is not for individuals, new organizations, or general nonprofits. This is a large-award instrumentation grant for established research institutions.
ResearchersSchools & universitiesLarge awardNarrow eligibility
Page 8 of 43
What grants can schools & universities apply for?
UseGrants currently lists 857 open grant opportunities that schools & universities are eligible to apply for, each summarized in plain English with its eligibility, deadline, and award amount. The feed covers federal Grants.gov programs plus state grant portals, normalized into one place.
How do I know which grants I qualify for?
Every listing includes a plain-English summary of who is eligible, so you can gauge fit before spending hours on an application. The free UseGrants eligibility checker (no signup) also matches you to open grants based on your organization type and focus. Always confirm the official eligibility criteria on the funder's listing before you apply.
Where do these grants come from and how current are they?
UseGrants aggregates opportunities from public records — federal Grants.gov programs and state grant portals — normalized into one plain-English feed and refreshed regularly. Confirm the current deadline and eligibility on the official listing before applying.